Skip to content

Business or Pleasure?

April 8, 2010

So, some people have been wondering if I’m running a photography business. The answer is no, I’m not. If anything I’m currently building a portfolio and really just rekindling an old hobby that at one point got too expensive to maintain. You can see on my Facebook page, however, that I have done a few portraits. I’m available to do these for people that ask so I’m definitely not averse to accepting a gig. Each one I’ve done has been a definite learning experience and I’m very grateful to these wonderful people. I’ve definitely learned a lot in the few sessions I’ve done, enough to know that I’m far from being in a position to advertise my services more openly. I am admittedly quite green. If you are looking for a good photographer, I definitely know a lot in the area I can refer you to who are highly professional and have years of experience.

As you can see from my 365 day project my photographic interests have been practically all over the place. Even after a year of really getting back in the saddle, I just don’t feel a specific direction in my photography. With photography, I don’t want to just take ‘nice’ pictures, I want to take pictures that define me, that speaks to what I see in my head. It’s actually pretty rare where the vision in my head matches the picture on my camera, but when those two match up it’s nirvana. However, I think one thing you’ll notice, or rather not notice, is the lack of people in my pictures.

The next stage of my photography needs to be taking more pictures of people, posed or candid. Capturing people has been something I’ve shied away from way too many times. Perhaps it’s my shyness coming through, I’m not sure. I remember one moment in college when I snapped a picture of someone and they immediately yelled at me and demanded that I destroy the picture. That incident definitely jarred me and possibly contributed to my propensity to avoid candid photos. I think that if I can break through that I can get to where I want to be.

For now, if you have any interesting project ideas for me to work on, let me know, I’m open to anything. Not surprisingly it’s quite hard to come up with a daily random picture.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

